AustraliaTops 5

Studying in Australia : 5 steps to get your 500 Student Visa

4 February 2020
student-visa-cover-S

After 2 years in Australia under a Working Holiday Visa, I’m going back to study naturopathy on the Gold Coast. I got granted a visa for 4 years (the duration of my studies) after 4 months of administrative procedures and many stressful moments. Today, I want to share the whole process so it hopefully won’t look as blurry for you.

Want to study in Australia but have no idea where to start ?
Jump on board, I’ll show you the way !

/!\ I am French, I am sharing my experience as a French citizen, it might not be the same for you. I strongly suggest you do your research, as well as getting some help – see the first point of this article.

 

Your best mate is an agency

When I decided to study naturopathy in Oz, my friend Chloé, who studied and lived down under for 10 years, advised me to contact an agency to help me get my visa. These organisations run on partnerships with universities, schools and other education establishments to assist international students in their enrolment and visa applications.

But above all, it’s completely free.

I personally chose GoStudy, following Chloe’s recommandation. Astride there provided me with many tips and helped me with (a lot of) patience, regular recap e-mails as well as updates on the upcoming steps.

It’s my turn now to suggest you to call on an agency like GoStudy !

Last but not least, the partnership between schools and agencies allows some discounts on your whole course. I got 15% off my 4 years course and knowing the price of it, it’s surely something to cheer about !

gostudyen

 

Step 1 : take an English test

As an international student, I had to take an English test to be able to apply to my university. I suppose it’s best to speak a little bit the language before studying science, isn’t it ?

I took the IELTS Academic and few weeks later, I got my marks back : 8 out of 9. The university referee later told me on the phone that the average for Aussie students was 6,5 out of 9. Easy as (it’s my blog, I brag if I want to).

Mid-October, I was then ready to enrol in the Endeavour College of Natural Health on the Gold Coast.

 

Step 2 : enrol in your university

Now that you’ve chosen the course and the city where you want to study, you can now gather the papers to enrol on your training. I personally had to provide my IELTS results, but also an official translation of my diplomas, as well as a cover letter. And since I applied for a Bachelor, I had to provide an English resume.

After paying the fees asked by your school to enrol, you will receive a CoE, Confirmation of Enrolment. You can now apply for your visa.

 

Step 3 : apply for the 500 Student Visa

For this part, I have to admit that Astride helped me a lot. In other words, I only had to go back to my Immi Account, where my visa application had already been well started, and check and/or correct some information.

I also had to list all the places I’ve travelled to the past 10 years, as well as my last professional experiences.

Although many fields were already filled, I still took a good time to make sure everything was in order. But before submitting my application, I still had two more steps to go through…

Gold Coast Australia

 

Step 4 : subscribe to a health insurance

As an international student, you have to be covered effectively for the whole duration of your course. You will have to choose between a few different organisations to subscribe to your OSHC – Overseas Student Health Cover.

To choose, visit the OSHC official website and select the plan that fits best to you. In order to ask for a quote, Astride at GoStudy told me the precise beginning and end dates for my contract: it starts on my first day of uni and best replica watches ends 3 months after my last day (in December 2024 – ouch).

Keep in mind that you won’t be covered before your first day of training: if you arrive in Australia before, you’ll need a private insurance.

I will be in Australia two weeks before my first day, so my credit card insurance will be enough.
I then received a Requirement to Provide Biometrics in order to finalise my application.

 

Step 5 : take and pass a biometrics test

I know, “Biometrics Test” sounds a little bit like the Matrix. It’s actually just the Australian government checking that your fingerprints still fit with the ones on your passport (juuust in case you got killed and replaced by a stranger since your last holiday).

You will therefore need to schedule an appointment with VFS Global, the Australian Biometric Collection Centre, which is in Paris. You will have to bring to the appointment:

  • Your confirmation of appointment to VFS Global
  • Your Requirement to Provide Biometrics letter
  • Your passport

On site, the test will literally take 10 minutes: a nice face shot, a little scan of all your fingers and a quick signature and that’s it, you’re free. All this for only 51€, payable by cash or credit card.

 

After that, there’s not much more you need to do other than wait for the greatly awaited “Grant Notice” – which you’re already first day of uni familiar with if you’ve been on a WHV before. If not, it’s the official letter that says “you’re right mate, you can go”. It’s only taken 30 minutes for the email to arrive.

Once all these steps are done and dusted, you can book your flight, organise your life there and… get to work!

 

Good luck and enjoy this new adventure !

EN-checklist

If you think this article could help someone, feel free to share it!
You can also find this article on Pinterest.

ENS-Visa-Etudiant-Pinterest

En parlant de ça...

Leave a Comment

AustralieTops 5

Etudier en Australie : le Visa 500 en 5 étapes

4 fvrier 2020
student-visa-cover-S

Après 2 ans de PVT en Australie,  je repars étudier la naturopathie sur la Gold Coast. J’ai obtenu mon visa pour 4 ans (la durée de mes études) après 4 mois de démarches administratives et de stress intense… Aujourd’hui, je fais un petit retour sur tout ce déroulement qui ne me paraît plus aussi flou qu’au début !

Tu as envie d’étudier en Australie mais tu ne sais pas par où commencer ? Allez viens, je t’aide à y voir un peu plus clair.

/!\ Je suis Française, je vais donc raconter mon expérience avec mon statut et mes droits de citoyenne française. Cela se passera différemment selon les nationalités – même francophones. Renseigne-toi et fais-toi accompagner (mais ça, j’en parle juste en-dessous).

 

Ton meilleur allié est une agence

Quand l’idée m’est venue de faire mon cursus de naturopathie down under, ma copine Chloé, étudiante puis expat’ en Australie pendant 10 ans, m’a chaudement recommandé de me rapprocher d’une agence d’aide à l’obtention d’un visa. Ces agences sont en contact étroit avec des universités, écoles et divers centres de formation et t’accompagnent tout au long de tes démarches d’inscriptions et demandes de visa.

Tu veux savoir le meilleur ? C’est totalement gratuit.

Pour ma part, j’ai choisi GoStudy, sur les conseils de Chloé. Astride m’a aidée avec pédagogie et (beaucoup) de patience, en m’envoyant des e-mails récapitulatifs et en m’updatant régulièrement sur les prochaines démarches à venir.

A mon tour, je te conseille vivement de faire appel à une agence comme GoStudy.

En plus, grâce à leur partenariat avec ces établissements, ces agences peuvent te faire bénéficier de réductions sur ton cursus. Par exemple, j’ai eu 15% de réduction sur l’ensemble de ma formation, et vu le prix des études en Australie, c’est un avantage non négligeable !

gostudyfr

 

Etape 1 : passe un test d’anglais (et paye)

Je ne pense pas que ce soit indispensable à toutes les formations, mais pour ma part, avant même de m’inscrire à mon université, il fallait que je passe un test d’aptitudes à mon utilisation de l’anglais.

Il s’agirait de savoir parler un tout p’tit peu la langue avant d’envisager un Bachelor en science, non ?

J’ai donc passé l’IELTS Academic et quelques semaines plus tard, j’ai reçu mes notes : 8 sur 9. La référente de l’université m’a plus tard dit au téléphone que la moyenne des étudiants australiens était de 6,5 sur 9. Easy as (oui bon ben c’est aussi mon blog j’ai le droit de me faire mousser un peu).

Mi-octobre, j’étais prête à m’inscrire à l’université Endeavour College of Natural Health, sur la Gold Coast.

 

Etape 2 : inscris-toi à ta formation (et paye !)

Tu as choisi ton cursus et la ville où tu veux étudier ? Tu peux rassembler tous les documents nécessaires pour t’inscrire à ta formation. Pour ma part, en plus des résultats de l’IELTS, j’avais besoin de la traduction du diplôme du bac et des relevés de notes, ainsi qu’une lettre de motivation. Et comme je vais faire un Bachelor, il fallait aussi un CV en anglais.

Après avoir payé le montant demandé par l’établissement pour t’inscrire (pour moi c’était une partie du premier semestre), tu recevras un CoE, Confirmation of Enrolment – en clair un document qui atteste que tu es bien inscrit·e.

Avec cette attestation, tu peux alors faire ta demande de visa.

 

Etape 3 : fais ta demande de Visa Etudiant 500 (et paye…)

Pour cette partie, je dois dire qu’Astride m’avait vraiment beaucoup avancée. J’ai tout simplement eu à retourner sur mon Immi Account, dans lequel la demande de visa avait déjà été amorcée, et vérifier et/ou corriger certaines infos.

J’ai du également lister tous les voyages que j’ai faits au cours des 10 dernières années et indiquer à nouveau mes 3/4 dernières expériences professionnelles.

Bien que la plupart des champs soient déjà pré-remplis, j’ai quand même pris mon temps pour vérifier toutes les infos et m’assurer que tout était en ordre. Mais avant d’envoyer la demande de visa, il fallait encore passer deux petites étapes

Gold Coast Australia

 

Etape 4 : souscris à une assurance santé (et…t’as compris)

En tant qu’étudiant·e international·e, tu dois être couvert·e pour toute la durée de tes études. Tu devras alors choisir entre différents organismes d’assurances pour souscrire à ton OSHC (Overseas Student Health Cover – Couverture Santé pour les Etudiants Internationaux).

Pour choisir, rends-toi sur le site officiel de l’OSHC et choisis le plan qui te convient le mieux. Afin que je puisse demander un devis, Astride chez GoStudy m’a indiqué les dates de début et de fin précises de validité de mon assurance : elle commence le jour de ma rentrée et se termine 3 mois après la fin de mon dernier jour de cours (en décembre 2024 – ouch).

Attention, tu n’es pas couvert·e avant le jour de ta rentrée des classes. Si tu arrives avant, il te faudra une assurance privée.

J’arrive deux petites semaines avant ma rentrée, l’assurance de ma carte bleue fera l’affaire. Ensuite, j’ai reçu une demande de la part de l’immigration de fournir une vérification de données biométriques afin de finaliser l’envoi de ma demande de visa.

 

Etape 5 : passe un test biométrique (gratuit ! non j’rigole paye)

Je sais, un « test biométrique » ça fait un peu Matrix sur les bords. En fait, ce qu’ils vont faire c’est vérifier que tes empreintes correspondent toujours aux empreintes sur ton passeport (sait-on jamais que tu aies changé d’identité entre temps).

Pour cela, il faudra que tu prennes un rendez-vous auprès de VFS Global, le centre de collecte des données biométriques affilié au gouvernement australien. Il se trouve exclusivement à Paris. Tu devras te présenter au rendez-vous avec :

  • La lettre de confirmation du rendez-vous à VFS Global
  • La lettre de demande de vérification de données biométriques
  • Ton passeport

Sur place, le test prendra littéralement 10 minutes. Une photo de toi, un petit scan de tous tes doigts et une petite signature et hop, tu es libre. Le tout pour 51€, payables en CB ou en cash.

 

Après ça, tu n’as plus rien à faire qu’attendre la fameuse « Grant Notice » – que tu connais déjà bien si tu es passé·e par un PVT auparavant. Si ce n’est pas le cas, il s’agit du document qui t’indique ton visa a été accepté et que tu peux partir ! Ça a pris moins de 30 minutes pour ma part.

Une fois toutes ces étapes passées, il ne te reste plus qu’à prendre tes billets, organiser ton arrivée et… te mettre au boulot !

 

Bon courage et bon vent pour ta nouvelle aventure !

Check list visa étudiant 500

Retrouve plus de conseils sur l’Australie et le PVT sur @itsaussieas 🤙🏼
Retrouve également cet article sur Pinterest. Et si tu penses qu’il peut être utile à quelqu’un, n’hésite pas à le partager !

FRS-Visa-Etudiant-Pinterest

En parlant de ça...

Leave a Comment